STUDENT TRAINEE AND INTERNSHIP PROCESS
PENNSYLVANIA TRAINEE PROCESS
- If you are seeking licensure in Pennsylvania and you have 60 preliminary college credits then you will be required to complete steps 1, 2, and 3 to obtain your Pennsylvania Trainee License.
- If you are not seeking licensure in Pennsylvania you still must obtain a Pennsylvania Trainee License to attend PIMS, you will be required to complete steps 2 and 3 below.
Step 1: Certification of Preliminary Education
Students that have earned at least 60 preliminary college credits and that want licensure in Pennsylvania must register with the Pennsylvania Department of Education and complete the process to earn the Certification of Preliminary Education (COPE) which is proof you earned 60 college credits.
- Register and complete the application located on the Department of Education website at http://www.education.pa.gov under the Teacher Information Management System (TIMS).
- Upon completion, a cover sheet will be generated and available to print once the application has been fully submitted in TIMS.
- A $50 fee is required.
- Official transcripts are required for all college/university course work. It is your responsibility to contact each college/university you attended to obtain official transcript. Do NOT open the envelope(s), they must be official when sent to the Department of Ed.
- You must submit the cover sheet from TIMS and all transcripts to the Harrisburg address on the cover sheet.
- The Department of Education will respond within a few weeks.
- Once obtained please submit to PIMS.
Step 2: Criminal History Check
Request a recent Criminal History Records Check from the PA Access To Criminal History (PATCH – https://epatch.state.pa.us/Home.jsp) or other state agency that is the official repository for criminal history record information for every state in which you have lived, worked, or completed professional training/studies for the past five (5) years. The report(s) must be dated within 90 days of the date the application is submitted.
- The PATCH fee will be included at checkout.
- SAVE this background check to your computer so you can upload the document for your trainee application.
Step 3: Trainee Application
Apply for Funeral Director Trainee on the Pennsylvania Licensing System (PALS), here are some tips to help you complete the application:
- If you are not seeking licensure in Pennsylvania or do not have 60 college credits (therefore you did not submit step 1), check that you are in a coordinated course of study.
- If you have 60 college credits, want licensure in Pennsylvania, and completed the COPE in step 1 then you are NOT
- in a coordinated course of study.
- An application fee is required to be paid the the state.
- Certificate of Mortuary Education Trainee will need to be emailed to Mr. Drobish (firstname.lastname@example.org), your application photo will be attached and PIMS will mail the Certificate to the state.
Once all steps are successfully completed a trainee licensure will be mailed to the school and then submitted to you by PIMS. You must keep this trainee active and re-new yearly with the state.
Mrs. Maria Sproull, Admission Advisor
INTERNSHIP FOR A PENNSYLVANIA FUNERAL DIRECTOR & EMBALMER
It is advisable that each student understands their specific state requirements for licensure. The Pennsylvania State Board of Funeral Directors website, is your electronic resource for all laws and regulations. Pennsylvania internship requirements can be confusing. Please use the information below to assist in this endeavor. If you are not seeking licensure in Pennsylvania pleases consult your state’s requirements.
Fast facts for the PENNSYLVANIA RESIDENT INTERN:
To qualify an applicant must have completed every aspect of their mortuary science education program and be a PA student trainee* and have a qualified funeral director be their preceptor.
The Applicant shall obtain or have already completed via the trainee process:
- Certification of Mortuary Education: This form will be available for download after payment submission. This form must be completed by the program director of your mortuary school. If you are not in a coordinated course of study or if you were not a trainee in Pennsylvania, you must obtain Certificate of Preliminary Education from the Department of Education.
- Certificate of Preliminary Education: The Certificate of Preliminary Education is obtained from the Department of Education. You must register and complete the application located on the Department of Education website at http://www.education.pa.gov under the Teacher Information Management System (TIMS). Upon completion, a cover sheet will be generated and available to print once the application has been fully submitted in the TIMS. A $50 fee is required. (See COPE and Trainee License information page)
- Application for Preceptor: This application will be available for download after payment submission. The application must be completed by the preceptor, not the Resident Intern. After completion, the Resident Intern must upload the document to the Board through the PA Licensing System (PALS) account.
- A Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting course: The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs and the Department of Human Services states that all funeral directors that are considered “mandatory reporters.” All persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 (three) hours of an approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting. Please review the Board website for further information on approved CE providers. Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will electronically submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board.
- Criminal History Check: Provide a recent Criminal History Records Check from the PA Access To Criminal History (PATCH – https://epatch.state.pa.us/Home.jsp) or other state agency that is the official repository for criminal history record information for every state in which you have lived, worked, or completed professional training/studies for the past five (5) years. The report(s) must be dated within 90 days of the date the application is submitted.
- If this application is not completed within six months of its submission date, updates of certain sections and supporting documents will be required.
- If all criminal background check documents are not dated within 90 days of the date the application, they are invalid.
- If this application is not completed within one year of its submission date, you will need to start it all over again including any fees paid.
A Registered Intern:
- May have no other employment or be attending any other school. Unless they get approval from the state board.
- Must complete a detailed series of tasks in funeral service theory and practice, including the completion of the embalming of 35 deceased individuals and be present at a minimum of 35 complete funeral transactions from initial call details to the interment and follow-up services. All these tasks must be carefully documented and be presented to the board upon request.
- Must be an intern for 12 full continuous months and work a minimum of 40 hours per week.
- Must report to the board if they are resigning their internship for any reason.
An Approved Preceptor:
- Must oversee and assist the intern in completing a detailed series of tasks in funeral service theory and practice. Failure to so can lead to the suspension or revocation of their license.
- Must report to the board if the internship is temporarily or permanently terminated. Any interruption of 30 days or more shall require the internship to start over.
The State Examination:
- The Intern shall obtain an examination application from the board. Once completed, a photograph is to be affixed, the required fees are paid, and then it is filed with the testing agency at least 30 days before the exam.
- There are very strict rules for identification that must be followed perfectly, or the examination application will be returned.
- The preceptor must also complete an affidavit stating the resident intern properly completed the tasks of the internship. If the preceptor files a false affidavit or refuses to file one, there can be penalties imposed by the board.
- The PA test may not be taken until the intern has passed the National Board Examination.
- An intern may take the examination prior to the completion of the internship. However, they will not receive a license until the exam is passed and the entire 12-month internship is completed.
- Upon notice of failure of a section of the examination, the intern may apply for re-examination.